Skip to content

David Bowie

January 12, 2016

I always thought you came from outer space DB. And, of course, you did. It took you some 14 billion years to get here – a supernova when you arrived. You’re back out there now. We’ll join you one day “…drinking milk shakes cold and long…”

The day I bought my first Bowie album, happily parting with 2 pounds for Hunky Dory, was, for me, the start of a rich personal mythology of discovery and enlightenment.

I had two brothers who informed my youth. It seems intellectually, artistically, Bowie was the third. Without his stimulus, I would have been ignorant of a raft of amazing influences and entertainments.

Thanks Mr B. Your work will last forever. I’m in tears.

Five tracks (among many) that still give me goosebumps:

Life on Mars

Drive in Saturday

Rock N Roll Suicide

The Bewley Brothers

Five Years

 

 

 

From → music, Thoughts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

